Running in the rain.

Posted: September 25, 2010 by sarahbod in run, running gear, Vancouver

Thursday after work I set out for an 8km run around the seawall, in the pouring rain. Much like Gene Kelly I made the most of it. I wasn’t singing per say but definitely depended on my playlist to keep me going. I found it hard to really get in the right head space. Squinting to keep the rain out of my eyes, dodging puddles and running with soaking wet shoes. I did however enjoy the temperature as I am not a huge fan of running in the heat.

Singing in the rain may be glorious..running, not so much.

I know that I will be doing a lot of running in the rain. I do live in Vancouver and I have lots of rain to look forward to over the next few months. I can live with that, considering the average temperature all winter is 5 degrees!

So now for my running in the rain wish list:

1)running gloves – my fingers were freezing for the first few km’s. Lululemon has a great pair for $26.00

2) cap – so I’m not blinded by the rain.

3) maybe a second pair of runners -They still weren’t dry the following morning.

So, off to the running room and lululemon I go…yay, shopping! SB

Comments
  1. Caroline says:

    Hey! I’m curious, what’s on your favourite playlist while you run these days?

    • sarahbod says:

      Hey Caroline,

      I try to mix up my playlist each time I run. It’s weird but I’ve been liking some slower/acoustic type songs lately. Not what you would normally think for running but I’ve been finding they’ve enabled me to get into a good head space if I listen to them at the beginning of my run. Here’s a few songs from my last playlist…they are all over the place. Acoustic/rap/dance …. maybe you’ll like even a few:

      skinny love – Bon Iver
      crossfire – Brandon Flowers
      the ghost inside – Broken Bells
      uylesses – Mason Jennings
      tear drop – Massive Attack
      cult logic – Miike Snow
      fight for you & longest road – Morgan Page
      sweet dispostion – the temper trap
      the girl and the robot – royskopp ft robyn
      brooklyn we go hard – JayZ
      stronger than me – Amy Winehouse

  2. Sophie J says:

    Not looking forward to all that winter running in the rain! Where did the summer go!

    My Latest Post – Running Gloves

  3. Caroline says:

    Hi Sarah,
    Thanks so much for those songs! What a great mix. I notice the slower/acoustic songs and never would have thought about that but I’d like to give it a try and see how it goes.

    So far the favs from your list are: Miike Snow – Cult logic, Morgan Page – Fight for you and Temper Trap because they are my new favourite band.

    A few of my “standbys” for running are:
    Good Luck – Basement Jaxx
    I Gotta Feeling – Black Eyed Peas
    Just Dance – Lady Gaga

    And not necessarily running music, but working out music:
    Makes Me Wanna Pray – Christina Aguilera
    Forever – Chris Brown
    Praise You – FatBoy Slim

Leave a Reply

