Race Day!!!

Posted: September 15, 2010 by sarahbod in 1/2 marathon, RACES, travel

We were up at 4am….yes, I got up and out of bed at 4am! My father-in-law would be so proud! By 4:15 both Brad and I were munching on Cliff bars and bananas….it’s really hard to eat that early in the morning!  We had to be in or corrals by 5:15am so we rounded up the pirates and made our way to start line in Downtown Disney.

Notice it's still dark out!

We said our good-byes and good lucks before heading to our different corrals. I was super nervous and a little cold. Both Brad and I had to pee the entire time we were waiting for the run to start. That may be too much information but it taught me that I will never drink as much water as I did before a run again.  We didn’t even make it to mile 1 before we both decided to run into a hotel and use their facilities.

Super nervous?? or contemplating peeing in my running shorts??

After our little detour we were on our way and feeling good! The first 4 miles took us through both California Adventure and Disneyland. It was perfect as the surroundings were a great distraction. Brad stayed with me the entire run which was such a great motivator for me. I know that I held him back but am proud to say we ran the entire 21km…together!  I made sure I had water at each hydration station and powerade at every other, I think. The route was so great and there was motivation around every corner. Whether it was a cheerleading squad, a marching band, the Honda Centre or even a run through Angel’s stadim.

Saw us running on the jumbotron...thank god I don't run like Vada from My Girl!!!

I have to admit…I was hurting the last mile and a half. My lower back and butt were killing me. Had it not been for Brad cheering me on I am sure I would have walked the last mile. I ended up taking out my earphones and just listened to the cheering spectators for the last mile. As per my Dad’s recommendation, I kept picturing us all after the race, eating bananas and celebrating our accomplishment! It was so great crossing the finish line and I am so proud of all the piraterunners!

I'm sure we are all leaning on each other in this photo...ouch.

Overall, the run was a great experience. I loved sharing the day with people I love. The aches and pain were so worth it as I actually….wait for it…..enjoyed the run. I would even do another one and am considering registering for the fall classic 1/2 marathon here in Vancouver. I plan to train harder for this because of course I now have a personal best to beat! Both Brad and I have decided to start a bit smaller and have registered for the annual 10km Turkey Trot. It takes place on Thanksgiving Monday and the route is actually one I ran regularly during my training. So, I guess not only do I plan on continuing to run but also blog. As I’ve said from the beginning … it keeps me honest and motivated.  I also can’t wait to hear about the others experiences and future plans for running. I know Trish is planning a 10Km run in Toronto soon too!  Mostly I’m looking forward to the piraterunners next adventure….I may just have one in mind.;)

SB

Leave a Reply

