5 more sleeps!!!

Posted: August 31, 2010 by sarahbod in 1/2 marathon, Music, RACES, running articles

Are you ready piraterunners??!??! I am not! I’m nervous and actually feel as though I was more ready for the run a month ago then I am right now!! I’ve been online checking some last minute prepping reccomendations. Here are few I found:

Race Morning
Set your alarm to wake up early so you have plenty of time before the race. You need to be awake and alert. It is also important to get your body functioning and have a bowel movement to get rid of last night’s final carbohydrates. Sometimes drinking 1-2 cups of water or coffee will assist in this process.

Really?? Wake up early!!? Isn’t our race at 6am?? Alert?? It takes me hours to become “alert” after waking up, let alone waking up at the crack of dawn! Will it even be light out?? Also, bowel movement? Coffee? Seriously, I don’t even speak a word until I’ve been awake for at least an hour.  This is going to be interesting!

Getting Ready

Preventing chafing over the marathon distance is important. Vaseline or other athletic skin lubricant can be put wherever 2 body surfaces will rub together or where the edge or seam on clothing will rub on the skin. Also, to prevent the infamous “black toe” and other foot problems , shoes should have at least a thumb’s width of length beyond your longest toe when standing.

Wow, chafing? black toe? Running is certainly not glamorous! (but I know someone that is!)

The article continues with several more “preparations” but I just couldn’t bring myself to read them. Ready or not….here we come!!!! SB

 

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    GOOD LUCK Runners! Have a great time (as good as running for that length of time will be) and just remember how much fun it will be celebrating when it’s all over!

  2. Brian Wilson says:

    Hey Sarah don’t sweat it. You can do this. Here’s a trick I’ve found that helps when I get nervous. Visualize 10 minutes after the event when everyone is coming up to you and saying great job, you did good and the your starting to feel good about what you’ve accomplished.
    Or think of something funny:) like your dad trying to run a marathon in say, a tutu and tights. It will help you relax and ENJOY THE MOMENT!!!
    If that doesn’t work I highly recommend prayer, a lot of it.
    Bless you and Brad and all the best, I know you guys will do fine.
    Run On Piraterunners!

  3. Stacey says:

    Good luck and have fun!! I am lucky enough not to have chafing problems in my distance runs but I DO have a lovely black toe as a souvinier from the marathon…consider it a badge of honour! 😉

    Some of the best advice I got:

    * don’t do ANYTHING on race day that you haven’t already tried in a practice run
    * eat a good but not huge dinner fairly early the evening before
    * lot’s of runners get nervous and don’t seep well the night before a big race so make sure you get good sleep in the days leading up (not just the night before)
    * hydrate well during the race and make sure you do take gateoraid as well as water at the aid stations – whether you think you need it or not

    HAVE FUN AND ENJOY EVERY STEP!!

    • sarahbod says:

      Thanks Stacey! The advice you gave is great! I really try to get some sleep leading up to it because I know how nervous I will be. I’ll let you know how it went when we get back. Have a great long weekend!

Leave a Reply

