Let the REAL fun begin

Posted: July 5, 2010 by bbodnarchuk in L.A., RACES

Good day my lonely PirateRunner Blog. It has been awhile, hasn’t it?

Here’s the latest and greatest.

As of yesterday, July 4th 2010 I competed in and completed my first ever Sprint Triathalon.

It was 500m of Ocean Swimming, 26km of Beautiful B.C Biking, and a 5km Run. All in all an investment of 1hr and 46mins of my Sunday morning.

It was a blast, honestly I enjoyed every minute of it. It is very interesting to me, to see how far you can push your body, and on that note, this week I will jump into training yet again, except this time it will be for a Half Marathon with some pretty cool people/pirates (?) down in LA.

So if you’re interested, stay tuned, if not, go sign up to Conan O’Brien’s TWITTER account it is AWESOME.

Peas OUt.

BB

Comments
  1. Stacey says:

    Congrats on the Sprint Tri Brad! That’s fantastic!! I’ve been considering one but the ocean swim is scaring me off – how did you find training for it? Any tips?

    • bbodnarchuk says:

      Hey Stacey,

      thanks for the kind words. the triathlon was amazing, I am already looking forward to my next one.

      the ocean swim was EVERYONEs biggest concern on the day of, literally no one was super confident about it. It didn’t help that the conditions were super cold and choppy. When you’re swimming with 200+ other people, your body takes over and you just get through it.

      advice, train a lot, spend as much time in the water as possible, learn how to deal with getting smacked and pushed off course and really just learn how to keep your head down and motor through it.

      the best piece of advice I received/read was to “be in the moment”, to not think about the bike when you’re swimming, to not think about the run when you’re biking, just be in the moment mentally and physically… keeping that with me the whole race allowed me to focus and get through it without fail.

      hope that helps and I hope you’re well.

      BB

Leave a Reply

