On your mark, get set….blog!!!

Posted: May 14, 2010 by sarahbod in 1/2 marathon, piraterunners

What can I say. I am easily influenced. Not only has Trish convinced me to run a 1/2 marathon, she is also getting me to blog about it! She must have known she’d have me convinced when she tied a pirate theme to the run. Not only was one of my bachelorette parties sailor/pirate themed but a certain inflatable parrot seems to be present during many important moments in my life. (Carlos will be with us in Disneyland. Inflated or not…to be decided)

 

Stagette in Pentiction, BC

I have to  admit as scared as I am, I am starting to get excited for run in September. Maybe, it’s because it’s in Disneyland or it could be that Brad are I will be celebrating our first wedding anniversary. We were married on September 5th, 2009. Such a romantic way to celebrate, don’t you think?

 

Our wedding in Stratford, ON

Or it could just be that I have no idea what I am getting myself into. The closest thing I have ever done is the 60km Walk to End Breast Cancer. Where running was not only frowned upon, but was absolutely not allowed. The distance has to count for something though.

Lisa (a fellow piraterunner) her niece Kelsey and I taking a break during our 60km walk.

My hope is that this blog will become daily motivation as well as a way to track not only my own training and progress, but also a way to follow the journey of my fellow pirate runners! To end my first post ever on my first blog ever I have included a quote from two very handsome pirates that is very appropriate for the journey I am about to take.  SB

Will Turner: This is either madness… or brilliance.
Captain Jack Sparrow: It’s remarkable how often those two traits coincide.

Leave a Reply

